What is Kosher for Pesach?

Pesach is the Hebrew word for the Holiday of Passover. While retelling the story of the Israelites’ exodus from slavery out of Egypt is the primary focus around the Passover table, the dietary restrictions around what foods one can and cannot eat are at the base of practicing the holiday.

Recognizing what foods are kosher for Pesach can feel a little daunting. Let’s try and simplify the main idea. Here are a few key things that would make a product (including those with acceptable kosher certification all year round) NOT kosher for Passover or available to receive kosher for Passover certification.

  • Anything containing grain (wheat, oats, barley, spelt & rye) is a deal-breaker and will automatically deem the product not kosher for Passover.
  • Any product produced within the same facility containing those grains without a thorough and supervised cleaning is also not acceptable for Passover.
  • Any grain-based alcohol and the use of this alcohol in the products are not kosher for Pesach.
  • There are specific kosher laws regarding food items referred to as kitniyot. These are raw foods (rice, legumes, seeds, buckwheat, corn) considered kosher for Passover by law, but many do not consume them based on religious custom and community history. These items are challenging for North American kosher for Passover certification, but an interesting topic to discuss further.

What Are Foods Naturally Kosher for Passover?

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables.
  • Kosher animal-related products. Raw fish, kosher meats and chicken, eggs, dairy milk (dairy products and non-dairy milk usually need kosher for Passover certification).
  • Kosher certified salt, pepper, extra-virgin olive oil, coffee beans, pure honey, and some spices.
  • What is Kosher Certification for Passover?

Once the ingredients and facility are considered acceptable for Passover, the central part of the kosher certification for Passover process is constant authorized supervision within the facility during production. Unlike the rest of the year, having Mashgiach (rabbinic oversight) present for the entirety of the production is generally required. But don’t worry, that’s where we do all the work!

EarthKosher prides itself on making the process accessible and straightforward. If you would like more information on kosher for Passover–or kosher certification throughout the year–please reach out! We are always available to walk you through the steps and answer any questions or concerns you may have.