Are there similarities between Gluten Free and Kosher Certification?

At first glance you might think that Gluten Free, (a quite modern certification), and Kosher certification (an ancient practice brought into the modern era) have little to do with one another. However if you take a closer look, you will find that they share common traits.

Gluten is a protein found naturally in grains like wheat, barley and rye. For those with celiac disease (or those avoiding gluten for other reasons) they need to avoid gluten in all its forms regardless of how it was introduced to the food during the manufacturing process.

Gluten Free certification is all about what does not go into a food product. Manufacturers must carefully avoid cross contamination at the facility and on the production lines.

Kosher certification also focuses carefully on the ingredients going into a particular product as well as on the production line and facility. For example, a Kosher protein bar could not contain both meat based and dairy proteins. Kosher Certification would also ensure that products are free from contamination by ingredients which are never Kosher such as shellfish.

Similar to Gluten Free certification, Kosher certification can only be achieved if the raw materials used comply with Kosher dietary laws and if the products were produced in a Kosher facility free of concerns of cross contamination.

As you can see, both Gluten Free and Kosher certification involve a review of each ingredient used in the manufacturing process as well inspecting the manufacturing facility to ensure there is no cross contamination from other non-certified products.

If you would like to have a more detailed conversation about how the Kosher certification process works, please reach out. We’re happy to answer any questions you have and set up a free quote and analysis.