Paleo and Kosher both have specific sets of guidelines that must be followed. Both prohibit certain foods, but how do they compare to each other?

Paleo, also known as the Paleolithic diet, is a dietary lifestyle that emphasizes consuming only whole, unprocessed foods. It encourages the consumption of lean meats, fish, fruits, vegetables, nuts, and seeds. Foods that are prohibited in this diet include grains, legumes, dairy and processed foods.

Kosher is a set of dietary laws found in the Bible also known as Kashrut. Kosher means that certain foods are considered “fit” or Kosher while others aren’t. Foods that are Kosher must only use certain ingredients and be prepared in a certain manner. One major difference is that Kosher certification contains prohibitions on mixing foods (meat and milk for example) as well as the circumstances of how the foods are prepared, which is less likely to affect paleo certification. In the meat and dairy example, both foods can be Kosher but they must not be mixed. In the case of Paleo foods (say, an almond) would remain Paleo no matter what other Paleo ingredients they may be combined with.

EarthKosher is unique in which we can also certify that products as Paleo as part of your Kosher certification. These certifications allow consumers to be confident that the food they’re consuming is compliant with the their lifestyle. If you have questions about any of our food certifications, please reach out. We’re ready to start the conversation.