In today’s market, many people are aware that you don’t have to be Jewish to demand kosher certified products. Kosher certification can cover health concerns, food allergies, and personal beliefs for many consumers. When it comes to pharmaceuticals, kosher certification can be equally as important to those with certain religious beliefs and dietary restrictions.
Kosher law states that if someone is going through a medical emergency, it is acceptable to take non-kosher medication. Outside of an emergency situation, many pharmaceutical medications contain non-kosher ingredients that consumers choose to avoid.
Those who are following a kosher diet need to watch out for medicines that use magnesium stearate, gelatin, glycerin, flavorings, and lactose. Vegans, Muslims, Seventh Day Adventists, and those who are lactose intolerant also try to avoid these ingredients when taking pharmaceuticals.
Since lactose is used as a binder in many medications, those with severe lactose intolerance will often buy a kosher certified pharmaceutical before one that’s non-kosher. Many soft gels and gel capsules can contain gelatin. This ingredient is often made from non-kosher animal tissue, meaning that kosher certification requires this ingredient be made from vegetables, a kosher animal, or a kosher fish.
When it comes to liquid medications, many of these have non-kosher flavorings along with glycerin. Glycerin is made from animal fat, vegetable fat, or petroleum. It can be found in cough syrups and poses a large obstacle when trying to find kosher certified liquid medications.
Magnesium stearate is another common ingredient in pharmaceuticals. It’s made from stearic acid. This acid is traditionally made by using animal fat derivatives. A kosher certified medication will often ensure that the magnesium stearate is made from vegetable derivatives. This not only appeases those following a kosher diet, but also strict vegans and vegetarians.
At EarthKosher, we understand that while Jewish law (often) requires kosher certified pharmaceuticals, other consumers want kosher certified medications as well. By offering kosher certification for pharmaceuticals, we give these customers what they’re looking for.
When working with companies that are looking to kosher certify their pharmaceutical medications, we start with verifying the status of ingredients. This means that we classify the list of ingredients as inherently kosher or non-kosher. Once this is established, our rabbis can start the consultation and inspection process to bring any non-kosher ingredients to meet kosher requirements.
EarthKosher makes kosher certification an accessible endeavor. We understand that certifying pharmaceuticals not only helps a business, but also consumers who are looking for kosher medications. To schedule a free consultation or to learn more about getting pharmaceuticals kosher certified, feel free to contact EarthKosher at 888-312-3559.